Snapshot Serengeti Talk

Motivations Study - can you help?

• Hannah_Highsted by Hannah_Highsted

Hi all, my name is Hannah and I am a Digital Heritage student at the University of Manchester. I'm doing a project on people's motivations for participating in crowdsourcing projects like Snapshot Serengeti. I'd like to ask if anyone would be willing to tell me why you're participating in this project? What do you want to get out of the project? How does Snapshot Serengeti help you achieve this? Any other background information about yourself would be great too (information will be kept anonymous in the project).

I look forward to hearing from you all!

Posted

• tillydad by tillydad moderator in response to Hannah_Highsted's comment.

Hi Hannah,

I take part on this, and other similar projects, because it gives me an opportunity to contribute to real research that will, ultimately, help to conserve areas such as the Serengeti for future generations . I believe that we need to improve our knowledge and understanding of the natural world and that camera traps are a great way to achieve this without being prohibitively expensive and time consuming for individual researchers . The images that we citizen scientists classify do feed directly into research and that can only be a good thing .

I have a lot of spare time, because of various health issues, and participating on here helps me feel of value and is a great way of relieving boredom . I have always had a love of African wildlife and this project really is right up my street .

Cheers πŸ˜ƒ

Posted

• davidbygott by davidbygott moderator

Hi Hannah,