Snapshot Serengeti Talk

Maybe a helpful suggestion?

• Annabz by Annabz

I'm a political scientist and really enjoy being a citizen scientist in research areas that are not at all my field of expertise. In my department, we have a large project where researchers are trying to measure democracy, by letting people in several countries classify and observe democratic indicators and then report back to the research team. One clever thing they include in their reports, is how certain they are of their conclusions/observations. Maybe that could be included also here? It would make it possible for the observer of the picture to give an indication of whether they are really sure of their identification or not.

Posted

• DZM by DZM admin in response to Annabz's comment.

Hey @Annabz -- that's an interesting mechanic; thanks for letting us know!

As I understand it, Snapshot, and many other Zooniverse projects, actually manage to extract very useful data without needing that sort of extra variable... the reason being that "sureness" can be inferred from the degree to which different people's classifications agree with each other!

There's a detailed breakdown here that might be of interest to you: http://blog.snapshotserengeti.org/2012/12/14/we-need-an-i-dont-know-button/

However, that's not to say that future projects might not use such a variable, so it's interesting to keep in mind! There's something a little bit like it on Penguin Watch, for instance, where people signify if they've marked every penguin, or just the requested 30. 😃

Posted

• Annabz by Annabz