Snapshot Serengeti Talk

hashtags

• mvanboroosie by mvanboroosie

I'm not a techie type, so I'm not sure when or if I should use hashtags.

Posted

• haboutaj by haboutaj

Yes, I was wondering the same thing. Is it useful to use hashtags in our comments?

Posted

• davidbygott by davidbygott moderator

I'm not a techie either, but I gather that hashtags are useful for a quick search - so if you click on #lion you have instant access to > 1800 photos that have been given that tag (whether or not they really show a lion). I think the caption above the Comment box is misleading, where it says "Say something, or mark with a #hashtag". This encourages people to use # indiscriminately, so we get lots of dumb tags like #wildguess or #ihaventaclue or #wtf, but these are not going to be useful to anyone so why bother?

We the moderators, and hopefully the scientists too, prefer if you limit the use of hashtags just to names of animals whose ID is certain, and to a few other categories that researchers may want to search for - e.g. kill, interaction, fire, slate, selfie, dailyzoo. If you tag an animal name, check that it is spelled correctly. You have the list of names on your classification page. A search for #wildebeest will not catch #wilderbeest or #wildebeast

We also appreciate if you can delete incorrect hashtags from your posts - only you can do that. For example, if you ask the question "is this a #lion?" we'd prefer you not to use the #, because if you're asking a question you aren't sure. When Mods reply "no, it's a #warthog" it means we are confident that it is a warthog and not a lion. However, the picture will continue to show up in searches for both #warthog and #lion unless you delete the # from #lion.

@tillydad or scientists, anything to add or correct?

Posted

• Babyballerina by Babyballerina